Working Groups

NYA Working Groups

The Academy operates three distinct working groups:

  • Biological and Medical Sciences
  • Physical Sciences, Engineering and Technology
  • Social Sciences and Humanities

Every member is expected to belong to at least one of these groups under the leadership of a chairperson. These working groups have the mandate of coordinating research activities among members taking into cognizance the common interest of members and engaging in communal outreach within the NYA. Having identified four cardinal sustainable development goals (SDG 4: Quality Education, SDG 5: Gender Equality, SDG 6: Clean Water and Sanitation, and SDG 16: Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions) as short to medium term target areas where the NYA has relevant and growing competence, these working groups drive a significant part of the actualisation of the identified goals through their activities. The working groups now have access to seed funding from the Academy to enable them kick-start their projects. They have the task of sourcing additional funding from external sources in driving their projects further.