Abiodun Egbetokun

Contact Details

Biographical Info

Biographical Info:

Abiodun Egbetokun is an economist with a rich multidisciplinary background. From a start in Mechanical Engineering (BSc) and Technology Management (MSc), he obtained a PhD in Economics from the Friedrich Schiller University, Jena, Germany. His research and policy experience spans nearly two decades during which he has gained a deep understanding of the microeconomic factors that shape entrepreneurship and innovation in sub-Saharan Africa and beyond. He contributes regularly to the global policy discourse on innovation and entrepreneurship in the context of sustainable development. His input has been sought by several multilateral development organisations including UNIDO, NEPAD and the African Union Commission. He has also spent time at some of the world’s topmost research clusters including the Oxford Department of International Development and UNU-MERIT. He is currently Assistant Director, Research at the National Centre for Technology Management (NACETEM), Nigeria.



Area Of Specialization:


De Montfort University, Leicester, UK

National Centre for Technology Management, Nigeria

Research interest:

Evolutionary economics; Development Economics; Economics and Management of Innovation and Entrepreneurship; Science, Technology and Innovation Policy; Innovation Systems; Science, Technology and Innovation Indicators


Science Advice for Policy Fellowship (2019)

Africa-Oxford Visiting Research Grant, University of Oxford (2018)

Open Innovation Technology Best Paper Award (2018)

Postdoctoral Research Fellowship, South African Research Chair Initiative (2015)

Visiting Research Fellowship, UNU-MERIT, the Netherlands (2014)

German Research Foundation (DFG) Doctoral Research Fellowship (2010-2013)

DAAD Short-term Fellowship for Foreign PhDs (2013-2014)

Best Course Coordinator, National Centre for Technology Management, Nigeria (2009)


Technical/Logistics Secretary (2017-2019)
Member, Central Organising Committee (COC) (2018)

Chair, Central Organising Committee (COC) (2019)

President (2019-2021)

Chair, Constitution Review Committee (2022)

Exit Year:2022



Google Scholar: